Ms. New Year’s Eve… in Brazil

I spent New Year’s Eve in Angra with friends and neighbors, and I can safely say that it was the best New Year’s Eve bash to which I’ve had the privilege of being invited.

Instead of dropping a truckload of money on a big (crappy) party at a nightclub, we opted to go in with our neighbors at the shared “club” here.

This, my friends, is the way to go.  We all chipped in with homemade food, a DJ was hired, and some protective awning was put up in the event of tropical rain.  We ladies put ourselves to work in the kitchen, while the lads were given a big box of decorations and were charged with decorating the club.  (Surprisingly, this turned out NOT to be a mistake.  I can’t believe it still, since they attempted to use drapes as tablecloths at first, but they made the place look stunning.  I suspect that they may have lassoed one of the female neighbors into supervising the effort.)

I will say this: In this country, they sure know how to party.

They.

Throw.

DOWN.

Everyone dressed in white, convivial atmosphere, lots of food, and a seemingly endless supply of champagne…

Discoveries

  1. It doesn’t matter what color underwear you wear under white; fear of its visibility becomes moot when you jump in the pool.  Or when somebody throws you in.
  2. Regardless of the party, Brazilians will start a conga line.  Count on it.
  3. Barnacles are sharp.  Don’t touch them.

NYE highlights : Man-shopper goes wild

  1. At some juncture, I took off my dress.  I’m not sure when or why exactly I made this decision, but I suppose it doesn’t really matter now, does it?  The point remains, I took off my dress.
  2. I fell off the dock into the ocean.  No, really.  I literally took a long walk off a short pier.
  3. After enough champagne, I’m sure I thought that I was the best dancer in the world, and I’m sure that this was not a pretty sight.  I’m sorry, everyone.
  4. At the end of the night, I passed out, on my back, dressed only in lacy knickers, on top of my covers.  I suppose I should mention that I was sharing the room with three men, who also told me later that I was snoring like a wild beast.
  5. One of my roommates purportedly brought home a girl, next to whom I apparently slept all night, but I was so zonked out that I had absolutely no idea.  She probably didn’t appreciate my snoring.  Or my nakedness, for that matter.

New Year’s Resolution #1: Drink less.

6 Comments

Filed under Misses

6 responses to “Ms. New Year’s Eve… in Brazil

  1. Grace

    Are you British-American? You use a litany of British terminology and slang in your posts!

  2. haha awesome. cheers to 2012!

  3. so funny-sounds quite wild!

  4. Awesome. Always funny. Sounds like you had a blast. Hope you didn’t discover yourself on YouTube afterwards :)

  5. Ken

    I don’t recall anything after “lacy knickers.”

  6. hey, in honor of your blog posts on French lingerie, took the plunge and bought some silly lacy matching set at Laura Sokol. Your blogs and recounts of Paris make me smile. Didn’t see another contact option, so I thought I would leave a comment. I am running around trying out online dating in Paris, also Ivy League and Asian (albeit half). I would love to get some insight on blogging in general, or any advice you might have.

    My blog is http://findmypenguin.wordpress.com/

    Thanks!

    Delphine

Leave a Reply

