Mr. Almost There

This will come as a shock to those who have been following my string of one-hit disasters on this blog.  But I just had a GOOD date.

Gasp!  Shock!  Awe!  Disbelief!

I know.  You all thought that I was a cynical, demanding harpy who enjoys putting man-products through my buzz-saw of criticism — just to get my giggles.

Well, maybe I am.  But not today.

Mr. Almost There was almost everything that I could ask for in a pleasant date buddy.  He provided witty and engaging conversation, he was passionate about his cool job and his hobbies, and he showed that he was a fun-loving guy who could also appreciate cultural activities and serious discussions.  He was also the consummate gentleman.

And he was cute as buttons.  He truly was.

There was only one problem:

Compared to him, I was kind of enormous.

I know that I have blogged before about the diminutive size of my date by making wisecracks about munchkins (see Ms. Drunk Date), but it matters more now that I actually like this guy.  In principle, I have nothing against smaller guys; I am not demanding in the sense that I need some Nordic giant on my arm.

But it’s just a little demoralizing when a lady of 1.6 m / 5’3″ dwarfs her male companion.  It’s just that I like to snuggle up to a substantial piece of man.  And “substantial” — in relative terms — is not that difficult to find for someone my size.

It’s not just a matter of height.  I hate to bring up a cliché, but size DOES matter.

My shoulders are broader than his.

My arms are about the width of his legs.

Not cute.

So I’ll bottom-line it for you all.  If he asks me out for a second date, I’d be more than willing to give it a shot.  And no, it won’t ONLY be due to the fact that it’s my goal for March (see Ms. Anniversary) to get a second date.

If he wows me a second time, I’m sure that I can get over my superficial concerns.  I’m a modern woman, after all, right?  Right??  (Am I saying this to convince myself?  Perhaps…)

Mr. Almost There really was ALMOST THERE.  He was almost attractive.  Almost.

Sigh.

I am such a superficial hussy.

9 Comments

Filed under Misters

9 responses to “Mr. Almost There

  1. Jo

    So is he shorter than you lengthwise? Or is he just skin and bones?

    I hope you do go on a second date!!!!!!

    • Shorter in all directions and in all dimensions. Maybe in the time dimension too, for all I know. No sign of a second date yet, but stay tuned for new developments!

  2. I was convinced you were going to say ‘…but he was married’. Of course, that mightn’t necessarily be a problem 🙂

    Anyway, give the little fella a second chance, then see if he shows any Sarkozy/Tom Cruise/Prince tendancies – offering you a Rolex, stuffing your bag with Scientology leaflets, wearing purple trousers up to his armpits, that sort of thing.

    • Ah the married guy! I already have a draft for that blog post on my desktop, but I’m saving that while I gather together my choicest specimens.

      As for Mr. Almost There, I’ll definitely give him another chance, but I suppose that it’s pretty cocky of me to assume that he’s clamoring for a second chance in the first place, right? He may be Tom Cruise, but I’m neither Katie Holmes or Nicole Kidman 🙂 Lord, but I would almost kill a puppy to be that tall…

  3. Don’t feel bad. I don’t do the short guy thing either. Don’t get me wrong, some are absolutely adorable. But then again, kids are adorable. I had a short man post myself a while back. Don’t know if you’ve read it or not…
    http://ziazitella.wordpress.com/2009/10/26/measuring-up/

    • HAHA they can be quite adorable, it’s true…

      That post was bang-on, lady! You know, I used to think that it’s not that hard to be taller than me at 5″3′, but I am beginning to rethink that…

  4. I’ve dated a too short man before. I’m a girly girl and wearing sneakers and cute flats all the time in lieu of heels got old. You never know, though, perhaps he can win you over? But I’m also of the mindset: don’t settle. Next!

  5. Pingback: Mr. Almost There – Part 2 « Man-shopping in Paris

  6. Pingback: Ms. Top Five « Man-shopping in Paris

Leave a Reply

