Ms. Happy New Year

It is a new year, and 2010 is finally behind us.  It has been approximately one year since this whole blogging (mis)adventure began, and I would just like to take this moment to thank you, dear readers, for being a part of this self-indulgent exercise — this slightly misguided attempt at self-therapy.

There have been a number of signs that this year is already looking up, the least of which is the fact that my nail polish has managed to last over a week without chipping.  As I attempt to reassimilate back into my normal Paris life after an extended holiday, and as jetlag continues to make me its bitch, I’ve had some time to organize my shoe collection, inventory my socks, re-hem most of my trousers, sew on all those fallen button soldiers of 2010, and reflect seriously upon the past year.

I’ve come to the realization that I’ve learnt next to nothing about dating, love or relationships in Paris.

Fortunately, I have managed to learn quite a bit about myself during my man-shopping endeavors:

  • I am not smooth.  I should not even try to be.
  • I have what may constitute a legitimate obsession with both the male posterior and my own butt.
  • I attempt to fill the emotional empty spaces in my life by indulging a borderline unhealthy gym habit.
  • I should not drink and date.
  • Even though I am not any more or less crazy than the average unhinged female, I am, by any standard, pretty odd.

Right.  So none of this is particularly groundbreaking.  None of these revelations is even useful, as I will likely continue to bumble around Paris and get into awkward situations despite any newfound wisdom that I may have picked up along the way.

www.nataliedee.comI am, for all intents and purposes, little more than a high-functioning idiot, but I get away with it because I am kind of adorable.  So my goal for 2011 is to capitalize on this the best I can.

I haven’t yet concocted any concrete strategies to implement for 2011, but I am working on it.  Don’t worry, Man-shopping readers, you will be the first to know about any cockamamie schemes that may come to mind.

Bonne année à tous.

12 Comments

Filed under Misses

12 responses to “Ms. Happy New Year

  1. I still insist that MY obsession with YOUR arse — a derriere I’ve never even laid eyes or, God help me, hands on — may well be stronger than your self-ass obsession. If that makes sense.

  2. You can get away with a lot by being adorable! I think you give yourself a hard time though. I choose to blame it on the Parisian men. It’s them, not you 😉

  3. Bob

    Glad to see you back and happy in the new year. Paris may be the city of love and romance but if it takes you a little longer to find that right guy who cares.
    Not like you’re in a huge rush anyway. Right?

    Have a great one, now go out and grab some guy with both hands until he squeaks!

  4. Welcome back to blog world MsBobblehead! 🙂 Being a high-functioning idiot is fine! It has got me through 45 years of Life just fine! Have a great day!

    • Thanks!

      I’m slowly catching up on your blog, post by post… (I have OCD tendencies, I can’t stand not finishing things…) Expect some nonsensical comments in the coming days 🙂

  5. Having nail polish that has managed to last over a week without chipping is definitely a good omen. So take that butt obession to the gym and fault the adorableness. I see nothing but high-class cockamamie to come.

  6. If you don’t drink and date – does that mean an end to Drunk Brain?? Nooooooo!!!

    Kidding. I’ve learned to accept my inner nerd/klutz. Weird – she’s apparently quite charming. Little did I know it.

    Good luck in 2011! Looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

