Mssrs. Gym Casanova

While I was tidying the other day, I found my old workout notebook, in which I also scrawled some of the more memorable lines that men have fed me at the gym.  My long-time readers may remember that I spend big chunks of my life at the gym.  And since I signed up over a year ago, I’ve had plenty of time to observe the kind of barbarism that is somehow accepted as civilized human behavior at a parisian gym.

I picked out some of my “favorites” and added a few recent gems in order to present to you, dear readers, the Gym Casanova Hall of Infamy:

In the lobby:

  • “Hey, girl, you don’t need to work out.  Don’t go upstairs to work out.  Stay here in the lobby with me and I’ll give you a workout.”
  • “Don’t see many of ‘your people’ in here.”

In the free weights room :

  • “Hey, little girl, are you lost?”
  • “Aren’t you afraid of turning into a man?”
  • “You must be in here to find a man, no?”

In the weight machines area :

  • “Will you marry me?  Oh, not YOU.  I don’t like asians.  I was talking to the girl behind you.”
  • “Are you lesbian?”

In the stretching area:

  • “Women shouldn’t do push-ups.”
  • “Do you give thai massages?  You’re thai, right?”

In the cardio area:

  • “You know, a lady is not supposed to sweat like that.”
  • “Finished already?  <as he looks me up and down>  Don’t you think that you need to burn a few more calories?”

From the mouth of a mean trainer:

  • “You’ve gotten fat over the holidays.  Looks like I have my work cut out for me.”

  • “You look terrible today.”  (For the record, I thought that I looked pretty good, dammit.)
  • <pinches the area of my back right above my butt>  “Got to trim this down!”  (Ever since then, I’ve been terrified about back fat.)

I love working out.

But goddamn it, I hate going to the gym in Paris.

7 Comments

Filed under Misters

7 responses to “Mssrs. Gym Casanova

  1. Ken

    // “Got to trim this down!”//

    I’ve got to write this one down.

  2. qbtacoma

    Damn, something is wrong with Parisian dudes. I go to the gym a lot in the US and I’ve never, ever had a dude say anything to me, except once one guy helped me with my form and another asked me to spot for him.

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh

    What a bunch of cringe-worthy phrases! Damn things have changed over the years. I would never think of saying most of those things to a pretty young gal. Now I really feel old…..

  4. I feel as though you deserve some sort of award for experiencing that and returning to the gym at any point following. I think I would have cried and eaten a cake. But thats neither here nor there. Good on ya. Youre a better woman than me 😉

Leave a Reply

