Ms. FORMER Expat

“Paris is most beautiful when one is about to leave it.”

~ 1945, Robert Brasillach, executed French Nazi collaborator

Yup. that’s right.  Consider this my official internet announcement of my big move.  In 24 hours, this Chickicus Northamericus is going home.

After almost half a decade as an expat American in Paris, I am finally moving on to the next phase of my life.  And I am happy to say that I will be starting completely anew in Washington, D.C.

I still have a few untold stories and musings about man-shopping in Paris to share with you all, so I expect to crank those posts out when I touch down in the States.  But after that, this is blog is going to go all-American.

I suppose that means that I’ll have to change the header of this blog to Man-shopping in D.C….

Paris has taken me on a long, eventful roller coaster ride, with its high points, low points and brain-pulverizing upside-down bits.  There has been much frustration and heartbreak, but there have also been lifelong friendships and beautiful moments that have more than made up for it.

If I can survive these past five years, I can survive anything.  In fact, I will triumph.  D.C., I dare you to stop me.

Stay tuned, dear readers.

8 Comments

Filed under Misses

8 responses to “Ms. FORMER Expat

  1. Yay! I wish you well on your new endeavor and know you will kick ass in D.C. But how about a stop-over in LA? Hm? Give it some thought?

  2. cambeul41

    D.C.? Masochist!

    Since you will no longer be in Paris, I expect the blog name to change. Please keep us all informed. In the mean time, I feel compelled to add one more note to the Asian Fetish thread before it vanishes.

  3. stills

    Can’t wait! Plenty of quirky men to shop here in the District. See you soon xx!

  4. Abby

    Agreed. DC will provide much fodder for the blog. Promise!

  5. It’s a good thing I really love your blog and not just the fact that you talk about Parisian men. 😉 No, really. I honestly can’t wait to hear all about the American man dating scene. 😀

    • mtrick

      I’m an American girl who also just moved back from Paris!! I spend my days drooling while I look at men who weigh more than 120lbs. I’m currently re-integrating back here. Can’t wait to read about your adventures too!

      (ps, don’t let the reverse-culture shock bother you! it goes away in a couple months! 🙂

  6. A Fellow Yellow

    It’s a bit sad to know you’ve left France. Your posts were reassuring in that they made me realize it wasn’t just me being weird; you too were experiencing the bizarreness of being Asian-American in France. I hope all goes well in DC. When you get a chance, you should visit Charlottesville, VA. I lived there for a long time and it’s a great little town.

Leave a Reply

